Welcome & Gear List

As·cet·ic
noun
1. a person who dedicates his or her life to a pursuit of contemplative ideals and practices extreme self-denial or self-mortification for religious reasons.
2. a person who leads an austerely simple life, especially one who abstains from the normal pleasures of life or denies himself or herself material satisfaction.

Welcome to my blog! I created this in order to provide some insight into my travels and as a medium to chronicle my adventures through southern California.

Starting Tuesday, August 26th and lasting until further notice, I will be traveling around and living out of my backpack, mostly going from farm to farm as a WWOOFer (Willing Worker on Organic Farms).

Since I will not be able to guarantee that I will have consistent cell reception, this would also be the best way to keep informed on what it is that I am doing.

I’ll do my best to keep this updated regularly, at least once a week, and in the future I’m looking forward to including on-the-road fitness information, traveling guides, vegan backpacking and food tips, book reviews and other features of interest.

To start, here is what I’m going to be carrying around as my only possessions on the road. This gear was chosen for its amount of utility, weight, size and ease of use.

 Clothing
  Clothing
Tops
  • 3 T-shirts
  • 2 Thermals (cold weather gear)
  • 1 Workout shirt (PT)
  • 1 Dress shirt (special occasions)
  • 1 Fleece vest (cold weather gear)

Bottoms

  • 1 Pair cargo shorts (casual/walking)
  • 1 Pair gym shorts (PT)
  • 1 Pair cargo pants (working)
  • 1 Pair dress pants (special occasions)

Underwear

  • 7 Pairs underwear
  • 7 pairs socks

Accessories

  • 1 Leather belt
  • 1 Baseball cap (sun protection)
  • 1 Dress cap (special occasions)
  • 1 Beanie (cold weather gear)
  • 1 Bandana
  • 1 Scarf
  • 1 Bowtie

Footwear

  • 1 Pair flip flops (shower gear)
  • 1 Pair running shoes (PT/casual)
  • 1 Pair steel toe boots (work/casual/walking)
Toiletries/First Aid
First aid and toiletries
Toiletries
  • 1 Tube toothpaste
  • 1 Container floss
  • 1 Toothbrush
  • 1 Bottle mouthwash
  • 1 Stick deodorant
  • 2 Sticks lip balm
  • 1 Bar soap
  • 1 Soap pouch (it’s a loofah)
  • 1 Pouch baby wipes

First Aid Kit

  • 8 Sterile pads
  • 51 Assorted bandages
  • 6 Antiseptic towelettes
  • 4 Pouches antibiotic
  • 2 Strips moleskin
  • 1 Tube super glue
  • 2 Pairs ear plugs
  • 3 Inhalers
  • 1 Advair discus
  • 1 Bottle aspirin
  •  1 Bottle RX meds
  • 1 Bottle hand sanitizer
  • 1 Bottle hydrocortizone cream
  • 1 Bottle insect repellent

 Utility/Entertainment/Misc.

Utility and Misc gear
Hydration
  • 2 1L Nalgene bottles
  • 1 2L Nalgene water reservoir
  • 1 Lifestraw water filter

Utility

  • 1 Knife (not pictured)
  • 1 Multitool (not pictured)
  • 1 Tent (not pictured)
  • 1 Sleeping Pad
  • 1 Flashlight
  • 1 Headlamp
  • 2 Glowsticks
  • 1 Mirror
  • 1 Tube waterproof matches
  • 1 Camping mug
  • 1 Poncho
  • 1 Pair work gloves
  • 1 Roll duct tape
  • 1 P-cord bracelet
  • 1 Whistle
  • 2 Empty bottles
  • 2 Small assorted storage containers
  • 2 Extra biner clips
  • 1 Zip-shut waterproof bag
  • 3 Ziplock bags (1 freezer/2 sandwich)
  • A pen and a notebook
  • 1 Extra pair of boot laces

Misc

  • A bike lock (WWOOFers on occasion are provided with bikes, seemed like a good thing to carry)
  • A portable blender
  • A set of measuring spoons
  • An iPhone armband
  • 3 Japanese language instructional books
  • 1 Kindle

So it seems as if I’ll be carrying around a lot of gear, and in reality, I will be. The pack right now is about 36 pounds, including some snacks, so once it’s filled with water it’ll weigh about 40 pounds.

As I travel around, I’ll be determining what I do and don’t need and adjust my list from there. The gear I’m carrying around is a mixture of backpacking and traveling gear, because I don’t plan on staying in the wilderness for long periods of time nor am I just sightseeing.

Certain items like food rations and a camping stove aren’t present, because as I’m WWOOFing my food will be provided to me. The blender is for convenience and to minimize the amount of time I need to spend cooking.

With that, I think I’m materially prepared to start my journey. I’m hoping that my experience in AmeriCorps NCCC and as a fire fighter on a Type II hand crew has adequately prepared me for what I’m about to endure.

Click the drop down menu to receive email updates from my blog and to follow my future adventures!

Stay tuned for further updates! Take care!

Leave a Reply

